MID-AM REPORT

even of 18 Mid-Am races are in the books for the 2007 Mid-Am season. So far things seem to have been rather quiet but summer has begun and the series should begin to heat up. Still, many of those drivers able to get out early have been collecting some easy points. With the new GCR rulebook classes added this year there are now 44 classes in which a Mid-Am Championship can be won.

This year the Mid-Am rules were loosened up a bit to make that challenge a little easier. Only three finishes are needed instead of four, but four starts are still required. Also eliminated is the limit on how many races can be scored at any one track, although drivers must still start a race at a minimum of two tracks

FORMULA ~~ FA: Willard King (KC) leads with two wins. ~ CC: Tied at 24 each from two wins each are Mike Bass (MidS) and Jim Krispin (StL). ~ FSCCA: Craig Chandler (OzMt) the leader with two wins. ~ FF: Frank Chambers (NeOk) tops the list after winning at MAM. ~ CF: Hans Iwand (Neb) scored the class's first points in his old Gurney Eagle. ~ FV: Matt Guzowski (StL) and Patrick Hughey (KC) have both won twice, but Guzowski also has one second-place to lead by 9 points. Three behind Hughey is John Stevenson (StL). ~ F500: Kenneth Kirkland has racked up three wins for a 36-point score. ~ Nobody has scored yet in F1000, FC or FS.

SPORTSRACING ~~ S2000: John Nelson (KC) has posted two wins. ~ SRF: Robin Kirkland (KC) has a one-point edge on Jim Coté Jr. (KC), 28-27. Tied for third at 24 each are Mark Hutchins (Neb) and Angelo Lagonia (MidS). ~ No scorers yet in ASR, CSR, DSR, SRSCCA or Legends.

<u>Touring</u> ~~ Nobody has entered any of the T classes. <u>Prepared</u> ~~ Almost the same story. No entry yet in <u>BP</u> and the only <u>DP</u> entry has already passed the National-points maximum. PRODUCTION ~~ SP: There's a couple of NASCAR trucks showing up for this class, but so far the only points belong to Ron Keith (KC) and Chris Stevens (KC). ~ EP: David Long (KC) has two wins and a 3-point edge over Forrest Tindall (OzMt). ~ FP: The only appearance so far is from the Brothers Wagner (NeOk). Randy Wagner won that Hallett duel and leads Marty Wagner by 3. ~ GP: No scorers yet. ~ HP: Ray Osborne (MidS) is the only driver with as many as two starts and has 21 points, with four other drivers each with 12 points.

<u>STREET TIRES</u> ~~ Scott Davie (Ark) and Bill Dawson (SIII) each have a win. They're tied. ~ <u>SSB</u>: No entries. SSC: Steve Christopher (KC) has one win. ~ <u>SM</u>: We can always depend on Spec Miata for action. **Mark Zwolle** (MidS) has missed only one race. Two wins, two seconds and two thirds give him 56 points, but it's only 11 back to **Sam Henry** (OzMt) who's won three times. **Oren Tucker** (Ark) stands third with 27 points from four races.

IMPROVED TOURING ~~ ITR: Ralph Woodard (Neb) has just a one-point edge over Jeff Goodnow (KC), 19-18. ~ ITS: It's a 33-point tie between Mark Andrews (StL) and Bill Denton (MidS). Eight behind them is Nick Chinopoulos (MidS). ~ ITA: This is now the biggest IT class with all the double-dippers from Spec Miata coming in, but it's the Neon ACR of Jeff Seelig (StL) atop the chart with two wins and 49 points. Chasing him are the Miatas of Ed Mabry (Ark) at 37 points, and 2-time winner Mac Spikes (MidS) at 24. The BMW of Steve Bachenberg (KC) sits fourth three points down from Spikes. ~ ITB: Four drivers are tied for the lead with one win each, Chris Albin (SIII), Harlan Donaldson (DMV), Bernie Mermis (Wich) and **Doug Warren** (StL). Albin is not doing his run-everyrace season this year so the door is wide open. ~ ITC: Curt Weilandich (StL) has won three of four starts to lead at 45 points. Craig Smith (Miss) stands second with two wins. ~ ITE: Running away with it is Andy Wolverton (Neb) with five wins for 60 points and the first driver to appear on the Driver of the Year chart this season. John Waldbaum (Neb) stands second at 25. ~ IT7: Charles Casteel (KC) has posted three wins to lead the class.

--Rocky Entriken