NATIONAL RACING REPORT

iDiv's 2011 season began with the inaugural race in the new BFGoodrich Super Tour at Hallett, and ended with Nebraska Region determined to put on their Double National "Come Hell or High Water" at Motorsports Park Hastings (MPH) after Missouri River flooding inundated MAM.

But with potentially all six of MiDiv's tracks on for 2012, race organizers are looking at a new paradigm for the division's racing program with each track potentially having two National races. Some will be on one weekend, a Double National or Double Rational (a National and a Regional happening simultaneously). Some will be two weekends with the traditional Regional/National format. The schedule, currently showing eight National weekends, is *extremely* preliminary at the moment and likely will change.

The 2011 season crowned 25 champions out of a possible 28 classes. Nobody raced in FB, FE or T3. Nineteen will receive the coveted director's chairs with the hand-tooled leather seat and back. Another 19 drivers earned the leather camp stool for finishing 2nd or 3rd in class. Awards (top-3) go only to those with at least three MiDiv starts.

FORMULA

•FM ~ Gary Phillips (KC) won his first champion's chair with a four-win season beginning at Homestead in January, then on three consecutive July weekends at Hallett, Watkins Glen and Heartland Park Topeka. Mark Greb (DMV) in second won three times but had only two MiDiv starts. Ken DeNault (DMV) took third with four runner-up finishes. •FF ~ Two wins at Hallett and one at HPT brought Cliff Johnson (KC) his 14th championship. Dan Layton (StL) won at MPH and finished second, while Frank Chambers (NeOk) won at HPT for third place. •FV ~ Lisa Noble (Kan) ran all seven MiDiv races, winning twice at Hallett, once each at HPT and MPH and finishing 2nd in the other three for her second championship. Bill Lauer (Wich) also ran all seven to take runner-up ahead of Bill Johnson III (KC), who won at MAM, HPT and MPH. •F500 ~ Charles McAbee Jr. (Kan) has a second straight championship with wins at Hallett, twice at Texas World, twice at High Plains, and MPH. Behind were Timothy Friest (KC) and David Vincent (KC) who split wins at the Pikes Peak double rational. Also... •FA ~ Jim Wright (StL) won at HPT. •FC ~ Allan Dale (Kan) scored points at HPT for a second championship.

SPORTSRACING

• CSR ~ Glen Tomlinson (Okla) won at HPT, MAM and Hallett driving Steve Fenske's Fenske G2 creation. •DSR ~ Tom Bootz (KC) won at Hallett, HPT and MAM. He also raced three times at Road America, only winning once there but that one was at the Runoffs! It's his fourth straight MiDiv crown. •SRF ~ Young Grayson Strathman (Kan) rall all seven MiDiv races, winning both times at Hallett and both at HPT. Richard Wiese (StL) in second won the other three, at MAM and both races at MPH plus one at Autobahn Joliet. O.L. Kinney (KC) is third in points with four third-place finishes. Also... •S2000 ~ Jack Donnellan (Okla) won at Texas World, Hallett and HPT for his third championship.

GRAND TOURING

•GT1 ~ Chris Stevens (KC) raced his Shelby Cobra six times, winning both races at HPT and both ends of the

doubleheader at MPH. •GT2 ~ Tony Giordano (KC) won at MAM, HPT, and also both races at MPH for his fourth title. •GT3 ~ Robert Herman (Neb) claimed his second championship with wins at MAM, HPT, and twice at MPH. Richard Allen (Okla) also won four, at Hallett, HPT and two at Texas World, to finish 2nd in points. Third went to Hallett winner George Walker (NeOk). •GTL ~ Kent Prather (Kan) raced six times and won all six, at Hallett, HPT, MAM, twice at High Plains, and then at the Runoffs. It's his second GTL title after seven in GP (and his seventh National Championship, six in GP).

SUPER TOURING

•STO ~ Sean Maloney (StL) scored his first win at Brainerd, his second at Hastings. Runner-up Mark Kirby (KC) was a three-time winner, two at HPT and one at MAM. •STU ~ Brian Laughlin (NeOk) won both Hallett rounds and once at MAM.

TOURING

•T1 ~ Natha Waldbaum (Neb) finished just six points ahead of Mike McGinley (KC), winning at MAM in June and then scoring two more in the last National weekend of the season at High Plains. McGinley won two each at HPT and at MPH. •T2 ~ Andy Wolverton (Neb) won his fourth straight championship with victories at HPT, MAM and HPT again.

PRODUCTION

•EP ~ Jesse Prather (Kan) won his fourth championship, his third in EP, by one slim point over Charlie Clark (KC). Prather posted victories at Hallett, MAM and HPT while Clark's season included three 2nds and three 3rds. Although Justin Pritchard (KC) in third place had only two MiDiv starts he won four times out of division, twice at Mid-Ohio in June, and twice at Road America at the June Sprints and the Runoffs! •FP ~ Robert Bramlage (Kan) had the same onepoint margin over Eric Prill (Kan), helped by wins in both ends of a June doubleheader at High Plains for his second crown. Prill won the last three MiDiv races, at HPT and MPH. Sam Henry (OzMt) took third with mid-season wins at MAM and Hallett. •HP ~ Chris Albin (SIII) didn't have it nearly so close for his third class championship, posting a six-win season for the highest point score (81) in MiDiv. He won both at Hallett, HPT and MPH. Jack Schulz (OzMt) was second in class with four 2nds and a 3rd. Rocky Entriken (Sal) claimed third place with one 2nd and three 3rds.

AMERICAN SEDAN

•AS ~ Jim Wheeler (KC) won the first five races of the season, sweeping Hallett, HPT and MAM, for his fourth championship.

SHOWROOM STOCK

Nobody in SS had three starts to earn awards. However, **Tom Kraft** (DMV) won at HPT, MAM and twice at Blackhawk Farms for a second SSB championship. And **John Saucier** (Okla) won at Hallett, twice at Texas World, and at HPT for his 28th championship, 20th in a row in SSC.

SPEC MIATA

•SM ~ Jim Drago (MidS) and Tom Kraft (DMV) finished 1-2, but both with only two MiDiv starts. Drago won at Road America and Hallett, while Kraft won at HPT and MAM. **Kyle Jones** (OzMt) got in three starts and won one at HPT.

The Midwest Division I.T. Tour

- Olympic-style medals go to the top three in each class, providing they've met the minimum of three starts out of the seven races. Four of the seven champions met the minimum.
- <u>ITB</u> This is the 15th year of the I.T. Tour and **Chris Albin** (SIII) won his 14th ITB gold. He won five times, twice at Hallett, once at Heartland Park, and twice at Hastings. Silver again went to **Gary Learned** (Wich) with wins at Heartland Park and Mid-America. In third is **Ralf Lindow** (Neb), with five podium finishes.
- <u>ITC</u> Curt Weilandich (StL) won his fourth championship in five seasons with a pair of Hallett victories and one at Heartland Park
- <u>ITE</u> **Kim McDonald** (Neb) won the first three races, at Hallett, HPT and MAM for his second championship. **Jeff Demetri** (Neb) won the last three races, at HPT and twice at Hastings. Third went to **Anthony Dail** (Sal) with three podium finishes.
 - IT7 The closest championship in the Tour this year was in

IT7, where **Ben Wolf** (KC) won four times, at MAM, Hallett and twice at Hastings. That left him three points ahead of **Lynn Lamb** (Okla), who could only count five of his six runner-up finishes. **Charles Casteel** (KC) won the first two rounds at Hallett and HPT to finish third.

No gold medals are awarded in ITR, ITS or ITA as no champion met the three-start minimum. Nonetheless, champions are recognized.

In ITR it's a three-way tie between HPT winners **John Byram Jr.** (KC) and **Ralph Woodard** (Neb), and Hallett winner **Jude Rudder** (StL).

In ITS Matthew Revnolds (NeOk) won both Hallett rounds.

In ITA **Ray Yergler** (DMV) won the two Heartland Park races and **Brett Westcott** (Neb) won the two Hastings races. A Bronze medal goes to **Bruce Bettinger** (Wich), who was one point behind but a singleton third-place finish was the tie-breaker over **Mitch Schwartz** (Neb).

-R.E.