Mid-Am Report

otorsports Park Hastings was the site of the Bonus Race this year, with a twist -- this year the MiDiv Executive Committee rescinded the rule that the Bonus Race must stand alone (for points) so it became a potential triple points weekend. As it happened, only two drivers arrived needing Saturday's race to qualify for the bonus on Sunday, and three others used both races just to get to four finishes and qualify for the series.

Ralph Woodard arrived on a mission to win Driver of the Year for a second time. He already had enough wins in

his pocket, he just needed that double-points victory so on Sunday Woodard just settled in behind the 3-car ITA championship battle and cruised home.

This year the Mid-Am's big dog Regions are Kansas City and Nebraska. KC has the most award winners with six, Nebraska has the most champions with three. Awards will go to 10 of MiDiv's 14 Regions.

(Note that references to victories below are Mid-Am wins, the first Mid-Am driver home but not necessarily first place on the track. To be ranked on the Driver of the Year list a driver must have at least four "outright" victories, first on-track in a class of at least two cars.)

NEBRASKA REGION was the host for the Bonus Race this year, using a track few had raced on before. The Region's drivers brought home three championships and a 1-2 finish in American Sedan plus three of the six drivers on the Driver of the year list. Ralph Woodard took the ITR championship with an 11-win season, one of just six drivers with a perfect 84-point score for the season. It is Woodard's fourth ITR championship - he's the only driver to win it in the four years the class has existed. Also scoring 84 was James Wood in SSC, who posted seven victories for the year for a second straight SSC championship, and his sixth total with the other four dating back to the '80s. In American Sedan, Kim McDonald and Tim White traded victories in the weekend's races, but McDonald won the big one for a 78 point total to White's 71. It is McDonald's second straight AS championship. In the process both drivers got their fourth victories on the season to rank 5th and 6th on the Driver of the Year list.

<u>KANSAS CITY REGION</u> Jim Coté, per et fils, both claimed podium finishes this year in the Spec Racer Ford class. Jim Coté Jr. ran off seven victories to win the class championship and fourth place on the Driver of the Year list. SRF was a Kansas City sweep, with all three contenders on hand at Hastings and finishing the races both days in the same order as their championship standings – Michael Kinney in second and Jim Coté Sr. in third. Brett Whitney took Kansas City's other championship, in



E Production with a four-win season. John Byram Jr. collected a runner-up award in ITR. Frank Fisher with two victories took third place in F Production.

<u>KANSAS REGION</u> has the FP champion, **Ronald Davis**, who repeats his 2009 title. He also won the class in 2004-05. **Jonathan McIntire** brought his lavender Rabbit to Hastings, got his fourth finish on Saturday and earned bonus points Sunday to post a five-win record in his first season.

OKLAHOMA REGION this year owns the FF/CF

classes. Can't call them "Fords" any more because Glen Tomlinson became the first MiDiv driver win to а championship in Formula F (that's the name now), posting seven wins along the way in a Swift with the newly-legal Honda Fit motor. It's his third championship, the previous two coming in SRF. On the Club Ford side Jeff Norris won four times to be champion for a

side **Jeff Norris** won four times second time in the past three years.

NEOKLA REGION'S Brian Laughlin won ITA for a second straight year but almost threw it away. Thinking he was maxed out with six wins he was on the trailer Sunday morning, then was told he needed to win Sunday too. And his two closest challengers were there to take it away. Starting dead last, he sliced through the IT field and was leading overall in three laps. He's also third on the DotY list

<u>ST. LOUIS REGION'S</u> Harold Tubbs posted four victories on the season to win Spec Miata.

SALINA REGION'S Rocky Entriken got a top score at the Bonus Race and won H Production with a 5-win season and 81 points. It's his second title, he won the now-defunct GP class in 2006.

SOUTHERN ILLINOIS REGION'S own Chris Albin won ITB for the eighteenth straight year! He was also second on the Driver of the year list with eight victories.

DES MOINES VALLEY REGION has two runner-up award recipients plus a third place. **Ray Yergler** was second in ITA in both of the Bonus weekend's races. He had three wins earlier in the season. **Ron Leiferman** got in just his fourth finish in the Sunday Bonus Race, so he didn't qualify for the bonus but winning both races on the weekend boosted him to second in FP points. **Harlan Donaldson** similarly was able to meet the bare minimum qualifications in ITB, getting his third finish and his fourth start, just enough to be third in ITB points.

WICHITA REGION has the runner-up in ITB with Gary Learned, who has won three times this year, and third in ITA with Scott Bettinger, who won once at mid-season at MAM --Rocky Entriken