MID-AM REPORT

even races into the Mid-Am season and 168 drivers have registered for the series so far, among the strongest fields ever for the championship and every region has someone in the field.

In the Driver of the Year contest ITE driver **Loren Moore** (OzMt) led briefly after the April 23 round at MAM, but then skipped the May 7 race at Gateway and ITB leader **Chris Albin** (SIII) moved back into the lead. Joining them -- all three now at 72 points from six wins -- is **Steven Burkett** (StL) on the way to becoming the first-ever Touring 3 champ in Mid-Am. The top 10 drivers at season's end win a new driver suit from SafeRacer. See the website at <u>saferacer.com</u>.

KANSAS CITY REGION has the largest cadre of drivers, 42 total, with no less than nine of them currently leading their classes. Three of those have already racked up three wins, topped by ITS leader Bob Gill who leads fellow KC member Chuck Davis 43-34. Unbeaten in three times out with 36-point totals are Patrick Hughey, topping the best Formula V class in several years by just three points, and Steve Bachenberg, going for a second ITA crown. Sports 2000 is another Kansas City 1-2, with two-time winner John Nelson ahead of Bob Henson. Also with two wins on the board are FA leader Willard King, Jeff Kopp in American Sedan, and Jarold Boettcher, tied atop ITC. Gary Phillips shares the F/Mazda lead and Britt Brown is in the same situation in GT Lite, each with one win. Also in top-3 positions are the two drivers currently second in SRF, Jeff Stehney with a pair of wins and Dan Axtell. Jason Mabee is tied for second in F/Atlantic with 12. Scott Peterson is third in IT7, but only eight points shy of the lead. Bob Maupins is tied for third in GP.

<u>St. Louis Region</u> has 32 drivers signed up. **Steven Burkett** at 72 points has the region's highest score so far. He's missed only the Hallett race so far. **Mary Daly** has posted three GT1 victories to lead that class. In Club Ford, the duel from 2004 continues with **Michael Dierkes** and **James Krispin** trading wins in their two meetings and now tied at 21 points each. **Otto Roberts** shares the American Sedan points lead after two wins. **Tim McGinley** has the only HP points. Two St. Louis drivers are in second place with 33-point totals in classes that promise good competition -- **Matt Guzowski** in FV and **Nadeem Bari** in IT7. Also in second place, a tie in F/Atlantic, is **Phil Gumpert**, and **Gary Payne** is tied for second in FF. **Scott Orr** has 24 points in ITE for third place.

<u>MID-SOUTH REGION</u>, after hosting the last two Bonus Races at the Memphis track, now has 15 drivers signed up. Two are leading their class and three more are holding down third-place standings. There is no tougher class right now than Spec Miata and **Jim Drago** is tied for the lead there with three wins. **David Livingston Jr.** has won twice to top Formula Ford. Running third at the moment are **Bill Denton**, twice a winner in ITS; 2004 ITC champ **Nick Chinopulos** just two points out of the lead, and **Patrick Findley** in ITB.

<u>DES MOINES VALLEY REGION</u> also has 15 drivers in the Mid-Am ranks in anticipation of sharing the host duties of this year's Bonus Race (with Nebraska comprising the Mo Valley Race Group). DMV's top driver at the moment is **Harlan Donaldson**, standing second in ITB. DMV has become a Spec Miata hotbed, with the most drivers -- nine -- in the class and three of them holding 4th, 5th and 6th places -- **Jarrod Igou, Tom Kraft** and **David Volante**.

<u>NEOKLA REGION</u> has put a dozen drivers into the series including **Charlie James**, who has stepped up as the series' presenting sponsor with his SafeRacer business. James won the Spec Miata championship last year and is tied for the lead of the tough class with three wins this year. In ITA **Ben Bricker** has scored a win and holds third place.

<u>NEBRASKA REGION</u> also has signed 12 drivers into the series. Teen-ager **Tim Williams**, twice a winner, leads Club Continental. **John Waldbaum** after winning at Gateway has moved up to second place in ITE.

OZARK MOUNTAIN REGION makes a lot of noise for having just nine drivers registered. Four are class leaders and two of them are **Loren Moore**, with 72 points already in ITE and 24 in Super Production. He won them both last year. **Chuck Leighton** is once again ruling G Production with 45 points after winning three. EP is an Ozark 1-2 with **Court Whitlock** leading **Forrest Tindall**.

OKLAHOMA REGION'S eight drivers are led by Lynn Lamb, currently No. 1 in IT7 by six points. Lee Walther is tied for the F/Mazda lead after one win. Joe Spain has also won once to stand in a tie for second in Formula Ford.

<u>WICHITA REGION</u> boasts seven Mid-Am drivers. The best showing so far is **Rick Harris** in Spec Miata, in third place but just two points out of first. **Michael Lauer** is also third in class after two Formula Vee wins.

<u>SOUTHERN ILLINOIS REGION</u> has six drivers aboard, and five of them are in top-3 positions at the moment. **Chris Albin**, as always, dominates ITB with six wins. He and **Bill Briggen** are standing 2-3 in GP. **Phil Robinson** is second in ITA with two wins. **Ken Probst** scored his first GT Lite victory to share the lead of that class.

<u>Kansas Region</u>, with four drivers, has two class leaders. **Ron Davis** is after a second FP title and has won four times already. two-time winner **Matt Armfield** shares the ITC lead.

<u>MISSISSIPPI REGION</u> has three drivers, <u>ARKANSAS REGION</u> and <u>SALINA REGION</u> each have two. The only ones with points are Arkansas' **Scott Davis**, 5th in ITE, and Mississippi's **Skip Brunson**, 7th in ITS.

Midwest Division I.T. Tour

The Tour boasts two drivers with three wins in the four races to date -- Chris Albin (SIII) in ITB and Loren Moore (OzMt) in ITE. Each has about double the score of the driver in second, Patrick Findley (MidS) in ITB and John Waldbaum (Neb) in ITE.

With 33-point totals are two St. Louis Drivers, **Mark Andrews** leading ITS over **Bill Denton** (MidS) and **Nadeem Bari** on the point in IT7 ahead of **Lynn Lamb** (Okla).

Jarold Boettcher (KC) has won twice to lead ITC over Larry Orr (MidS)

Three ITA drivers have won once each to share the class lead -- Steven Bachenberg (KC), Ben Bricker (NeOk) and Phil Robinson (SIII).

In Spec Miata, seven drivers are covered by a two-point spread with **Roger Johnson** (MidS) atop the heap over **Chris Martin** (KC) and then five with 12 points each.

--Rocky Entriken