MID-AM REPORT

Once the dust had settled on the Mid-Am Bonus Race at Gateway, half a dozen drivers had come from behind to claim Mid-Am Championships. They are among 20 drivers to become the 2002 champions. Every MiDiv Region but one has at least one award-winning (top-3) driver this year, but Kansas City Region is the big dog with nine of the 20 champions.

Kansas City Region tops its list with three drivers who posted perfect 84-point scores – six wins including one at the Bonus Race. But a driver who just missed perfection – an 81-point score, probably deserves the most notable mention. That would be **David Long**, who made the biggest jump of any champion, as he was fourth in E Production points, but leaped to a winning 81-point total with his Bonus Race victory. It was Long's second championship -- the first coming 24 years ago when he won A Sedan. No, not American Sedan, but A Sedan -- the class which later became GT1. As for the rest – **Ron Lentz** won SRF for the fourth year in a row and **Michael Starnes** won his seventh Mid-Am championship and his second in GT1, both coming to the Bonus Race in second place. **Bob Gill** had it a little easier in ITA as he was the class leader going in and came out fifth in the Driver of the Year rankings. **Charles Guenther** tallied 81 points to take GT3 for the second year in a row. **Tim Koch** won eight times to take Formula Ford. **Al Essig** had a six-win season for his third S2000 crown. Late-starting **Harlan Moore** won four of the last five races to take his second straight Super Prod title. **Jarold Boettcher** and **Mark Buffon** went 1-2 in ITC. **Mike McGinley** pulled up a runner-up finish in ITE. **O.L. Kinney Jr.** went DNF at the Bonus, but held on for third in SRF.

OZARK MOUNTAIN REGION has three champions, among them the No. 2 and 3 drivers in the Driver of the Year rankings. Loren Moore made a strong run at that award, winning all 16 races he ran in Touring 1. Right behind him on the DotY list was **Chuck Leighton**, 11 times a winner for the G Production crown. **Shane Bennoch** won his third F/Continental championship. Three other awards go to **Dick Faxon**, runner-up in Spec Miata; **Sam Henry**, second in American Sedan, and **Forrest Tindall**, third in EP.

<u>Nebraska Region</u> also boasts three champions, led by **Ted Johnson**, who broke out of a 72-point American Sedan tie with Sam Henry by winning the Bonus Race and his third straight championship. **Jeff Demetri**, with seven wins, took ITE for a second year. **Jan Gerber** won SSC with the ex-John Saucier Neon. **Hans Iwand** won second in Club Ford and **John Waldbaum** finished third in ITE.

<u>ST. LOUIS REGION</u>'s **Timothy Finley** was third in ITA until he won the Bonus Race and leaped to the championship. **Tom Coppage** won his second Club Ford championship 14 years after he won his first in 1988. Runner-up awards will go to **Mary Daly** in GT1, Gary Payne in FF, **Robert Briggen** in ITB, and **Bob Eichelberger** in FP. **Jay Musgrave** won the Bonus to take third in Formula Continental.

<u>NEOKLA REGION</u> has three award winners topped by <u>Mickey Schreiner</u>, who added his first F Production title to seven prior ones in HP. <u>Marty Wagner</u> was second in ITS, and <u>Frank Chambers</u> third in CF.

<u>SOUTHERN ILLINOIS REGION</u>'s RE Chris Albin won ITB with a 16-win season, which also gave him his seventh Driver of the Year award.

<u>MID-SOUTH REGION</u>'s only award is **Don Wiseman**'s second Spec Miata championship added to three earlier ones won in SSC.

Others receiving awards were:

KANSAS – **Ronald Davis**, 2nd in EP, and Bill Allman, 2nd in SRF.

<u>DES MOINES VALLEY</u> – **Greg Scharnberg**, 2nd in FC; **David Volante**, 3rd in ITA, and **Tom Kraft**, 3rd in SM.

<u>ARKANSAS</u> – Norm Floyd, 2nd in ITA, and **Dan Crossett**, 3rd in ITS.

SALINA – Rocky Entriken, 2nd in GP.

WICHITA - Ray Barker, 3rd in ITC, and Scott Bettinger, 3rd in American Sedan.

OKLAHOMA – Russell Neely, 3rd in ITB.

—Rocky Entriken